The 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to transform our world

In September 2015, the General Assembly of the United Nations adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development that includes 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Building on the principle of “leaving no one behind”, the new Agenda emphasises a holistic approach to achieving sustainable development for all.  The SDGs also explicitly include disability and persons with disabilities.

The 17 sustainable development goals (SDGs) are:

GOAL 1: No Poverty

GOAL 2: Zero Hunger

GOAL 3: Good Health and Well-being

GOAL 4: Quality Education

GOAL 5: Gender Equality

GOAL 6: Clean Water and Sanitation

GOAL 7: Affordable and Clean Energy

GOAL 8: Decent Work and Economic Growth

GOAL 9: Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure

GOAL 10: Reduced Inequality

GOAL 11: Sustainable Cities and Communities

GOAL 12: Responsible Consumption and Production

GOAL 13: Climate Action

GOAL 14: Life Below Water

GOAL 15: Life on Land

GOAL 16: Peace and Justice Strong Institutions

GOAL 17: Partnerships to achieve the Goal


What is all this to do with investment you ask?  Of the face of it, not a lot. But it is a indication of the greater emphasise of ethical and socially responsible considerations and another reason why we as a company are finding more and more people wanting to invest in producs that are both ethical and socially responsible in their outlook.

If you would like more information please give us a call.